top of page


The Split/Lip Press Mission

Split/Lip Press is dedicated to publishing boundary-breaking fiction, nonfiction, and hybrid books, lifting the transition boards that prevent fluidity and smashing those we cannot pry up. We love work that questions the concept of truth and work that reinterprets what we think we know. We prize experimentation (physical, emotional, metaphysical, meta-emotional); we welcome the unanswerable. We want to see the dark and the light side of the moon—or we want to see it obliterated. If your book is a wedge in a crack, Split/Lip Press is the hammer helping you split the wall apart.


Since 2014, SLP has been honored to publish innovative and culturally relevant books. We collaborate with our authors as much as possible to design books which reflect the complexity of their work, and we print on-demand to provide our authors with the highest possible royalties. Each year, Split/Lip Press runs separate submissions periods for flash fiction/short story manuscripts, novella/novels, nonfiction/hybrid collections, and chapbooks (alternating between nonfiction/hybrid and fiction).


The Split/Lip Press Team


Kristine Langley Mahler

Director and Publisher

Kristine Langley Mahler is the author of A Calendar Is a Snakeskin (Autofocus, 2023) and Curing Season: Artifacts (West Virginia University Press, 2022). Her work has been supported by the Nebraska Arts Council, named Notable in Best American Essays 2019 and 2021, and published in DIAGRAM, Fourth Genre, Ninth Letter, American Literary Review, and Brevity, among others. Find more about her projects at or @suburbanprairie.

Caleb T 2.jpg

Caleb Tankersley

Managing Director

Caleb Tankersley’s story collection Sin Eaters won the Permafrost Book Prize and was published in 2022 by University of Alaska Press. He is also the author of the chapbook Jesus Works the Night Shift. His writing can be found in Carve, The Cimarron Review, Puerto del Sol, Sycamore Review, and other magazines. He lives and teaches in St. Paul.


Abigail Oswald

Marketing Director

Abigail Oswald is a writer whose work predominantly examines themes of celebrity, crime, and girlhood. Her writing has appeared in Catapult, Wigleaf, DIAGRAM, Split Lip, Best Microfiction, and elsewhere. She holds an MFA from Sarah Lawrence College, lives in Connecticut, and can be found at the movie theater in at least one parallel universe at any given time. More online at


Gage Saylor

Marketing Director

Gage Saylor is a Ph.D. candidate at Oklahoma State University. His work has appeared in Southern Humanities Review, Passages North, Tampa Review, Nimrod, and elsewhere. He serves as a Guest Editor at The Masters Review and CRAFT. You can find him at and @gage__saylor on Twitter.

Kate Finegan headshot.jpg

Kate Finegan

Novel/Novella Editor

Kate Finegan's work has been supported by Canada Council for the Arts, Ontario Arts Council, and Toronto Arts Council. Originally from Tennessee, she now lives on Treaty Six territory in Saskatchewan.


Pedro Ramírez

Short Story/Flash Fiction Editor

Pedro Ramirez is a Mexican-American writer from New York City. He's worked as an associate editor at december magazine, an assistant editor at Compose: A Journal of Simply Good Writing, and as an assistant and associate editor at Dogwood: a Journal of Poetry & Prose, Fairfield University's national literary journal.


Lauren W. Westerfield

Outgoing Nonfiction/Hybrid Editor

Lauren W. Westerfield is the author of Depth Control, a hybrid essay/autofiction collection forthcoming from Unsolicited Press (Spring 2025). Her essays and poetry have most recently appeared in FENCE, Seneca Review, Willow Springs, Denver Quarterly, and OptWest. She teaches in the English department at Washington State University, where she is the Editing and Publishing Certificate coordinator and serves as the editor-in-chief of Blood Orange Review. Lauren is the recipient of a 2022 Fellowship in Literature from the Idaho Commission on the Arts in support of her current book project, a memoir in essays exploring epigenetics, illness, artmaking, addiction, autonomy, sexuality, power, and shame.


Athena Dixon

Incoming Nonfiction/Hybrid Editor

Athena Dixon is the author of The Loneliness Files (Tin House, 2023), The Incredible Shrinking Woman (Split/Lip Press, 2020), and No God in This Room (Argus House Press, 2018). Her work also appears in The Breakbeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic (Haymarket Books, 2018) and Getting to the Truth: The Craft and Practice of Creative Nonfiction (Hippocampus Books, 2021). Athena is a fellow of Callaloo and  V.O.N.A. as well as a Tin House Winter Workshop attendee. Additionally, she has presented at AWP, HippoCamp, and The Muse and the Marketplace, among other panels and conferences across the nation. She has served as a Writer in Residence for the app Dipsea. Athena has been awarded a fellowship from The Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing and a 2nd book residency from Tin House.


David Wojciechowski

Book Designer

David Wojciechowski is the author of Dreams I Never Told You & Letters I Never Sent (Gold Wake Press). His poems have appeared in Bateau, Bodega, HAD, Hobart, Meridian, and elsewhere. He also has a few collaborative poems in the anthology They Said (Black Lawrence Press). David is a freelance designer and editor, and he teaches writing and literature at several colleges. David can be found online at and on Twitter @MrWojoRising.

Split/Lip Press Reading Teams

2023 Nonfiction/Hybrid Reading Team

Cindy Bradley

Sarah Cavar

Gabriela Denise Frank

Tucker Lieberman

Keene Short

2024 Short Story/Flash Fiction Reading Team

Elena Aponte

Hannah Berman

Robin Bissett

Coby-Dillon English

Victoria Hood

Amanda Krupman

Kaleena Madruga

Aysha Mahmood

Mrityunjay Mohan

eric morris

Mariya Poe

Reema Rao-Patel

Kim Weldin

2024 Tenth Anniversary Open Prose 
Chapbook Reading Team

Athena Dixon

Kate Finegan

Kristine Langley Mahler

Abigail Oswald

Pedro Ramírez

Gage Saylor

Caleb Tankersley

2023 Novel/Novella Reading Team

Lindsey Bannister

Rubén Degollado

Steven Genise

Sarah Harshbarger

Patrick Thomas Henry

Kameron Ray Morton

Gage Saylor

Mwinji Siame

Erin Vachon

Jonah Wu

bottom of page